

THE

## NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

## EXTRAORDINARY.

Published by Authority.

WELLINGTON, MONDAY, JULY 2, 1917.

Military Service Act, 1916.—Constitution of Native Recruiting Districts.

HEREAS by Proclamation dated and gazetted on the 26th June, 1917, the provisions of the Military Service Act, 1916 (hereinafter referred to as "the said Act"), were extended, with certain modifications, so as to provide for the compulsory calling-up of Natives for military service with the New Zealand Expeditionary Force: And whereas by section 32 of the said Act it is provided that the Minister of Defence may, for the purposes of that Act, by order signed by him, divide New Zealand into such recruiting districts as he thinks fit:

Now, therefore, I, James Allen, Minister of Defence for the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby, in pursuance of the authority so conferred upon me, order and declare as follows:—

1. For the purposes of the said Act in its application to the Native Expeditionary Force Reserve as constituted by the aforesaid Proclamation, New Zealand is hereby divided into seven recruiting districts under the designations set out in the Schedule hereto, and hereinafter referred to as Native recruiting districts.

2. Each such Native recruiting district shall comprise the counties and other areas named or described in the Schedule hereto as comprised in that district.

3. Each such Native recruiting district shall comprise all cities, boroughs, and town districts which are included within the exterior boundaries of any county comprised in that district.

boundaries of any county comprised in that district.

4. Each such Native recruiting district shall comprise all cities, boroughs, and town districts which are contiguous to the exterior boundary of any county comprised in that district, or which are contiguous to any other city, borough, or town district comprised in that district.

5. If any city, borough, or town district is so situated that the application of the foregoing provisions would place it in two or more Native recruiting districts, such city, borough, or town district shall form part of such one of those Native recruiting districts as bears the lowest distinguishing number in the Schedule hereto.

6. For the purposes of the foregoing provisions, a city, borough, or town district shall be deemed to be contiguous to the boundary of a county or of another city, borough, or town district notwithstanding the fact that it is separated therefrom by a river, stream, or highway.

7. Except so far as otherwise provided in the Schedule hereto, every island not comprised in any county, but adjacent to the coasts of New Zealand and within ten miles thereof, or lying within any gulf, bay, harbour, or other territorial waters of New Zealand, shall form part of the nearest Native recruiting district on the mainland.

8. Any part of New Zealand which is not included in any Native recruiting district in accordance with the foregoing provisions of this order and of the Schedule hereto shall form part of No. 1 (Tokerau) Native Recruiting District as described in the Schedule hereto.

9. All references in this order and in the Schedule thereto to counties, cities, boroughs, town districts, and Maori land districts are references to such areas as existing at the date of this order, and the boundaries of the Native recruiting districts as hereby established shall not be altered or affected by any alteration which may hereafter take place in the existence or boundaries of any counties, cities, boroughs, town districts, or Maori land districts.

10. In this order the term "town district" means a town district

not forming part of a county.

11. For the purposes of this order the County of West Taupo shall be deemed to be two counties—namely, North-west Taupo County, comprising that portion of West Taupo County lying to the north of the dividing-line between the Waikato-Maniapoto and the Waiariki Maori Land Districts as constituted under the Native Land Amendment Act, 1913; and South-west Taupo County, comprising the other portion lying to the south of such dividing-line.

Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of July, 1917.

## SCHEDULE.

No. 1 (TOKERAU) NATIVE RECRUITING DISTRICT.

Comprising the counties of Mangonui, Whangaroa, Hokianga, Bay of Islands, Whangarei, Hobson, Otamatea, Rodney, Waitemata, Eden, Great Barrier Island, together with Little Barrier Island.

No. 2 (WAIKATO-MANIAPOTO) NATIVE RECRUITING DISTRICT.

Comprising the counties of Manakau, Franklin, Coromandel, Thames, Ohinemuri, Piako, Matamata, Raglan, Waikato, Waipa, Kawhia, Awakino, Waitomo, and North-west Taupo (being that portion of West Taupo County lying to the north of the dividing-line between the Waikato-Maniapoto and the Waiariki Maori Land Districts).

No. 3 (WAIARIKI) NATIVE RECRUITING DISTRICT.

Comprising the counties of Tauranga, Whakatane, Opotiki, Rotorua, and East Taupo.

No. 4 (AOTEA) NATIVE RECRUITING DISTRICT.

Comprising the counties of Ohura, Clifton, South-west Taupo (being that portion of West Taupo County lying to the south of the dividing-line between the Waikato-Maniapoto and the Waiariki Maori Land Districts), Kaitieke, Waimarino, Waitotara, Wanganui, Whangamomona, Taranaki, Egmont, Waimate West, Stratford, Eltham, Hawera, Patea, Horowhenua, Manawatu, Kairanga, Oroua, Pohangina, Kiwitea, Rangitikei, Hutt, and Makara.

No. 5 (TAIRAWHITI) NATIVE RECRUITING DISTRICT. Comprising the counties of Waiapu, Waikohu, Cook, and Wairoa.

No. 6 (IKAROA) NATIVE RECRUITING DISTRICT.

Comprising the counties of Hawke's Bay, Waipawa, Waipukurau, Patangata, Dannevirke, Woodville, Weber, Akitio, Pahiatua, Eketahuna, Mauriceville, Castlepoint, Masterton, Wairarapa South, and Featherston.

No. 7 (South Island) Native Recruiting District.

Comprising all the counties in the South Island of New Zealand, and including Stewart Island County and Chatham Islands County.

> J. ALLEN, Minister of Defence.